Our Members

jcbbsadmin
Site Admin

Our Members

Post by jcbbsadmin » Thu Feb 11, 2021 8:52 pm

Once you have registered and have been approved, please post a reply to this message and tell the group about yourself.

We would like to know how many years you ave been keeping bees and how many hives you keep. For the brave, you are also encouraged to tell us about your trials and success at over wintering. Have you ever intentionally tried to raise queens? Which methods have you tried? What were your results? Anything that you would like to share with us is welcome.

jcbbsadmin
Site Admin

Re: Our Members

Post by jcbbsadmin » Thu Feb 11, 2021 9:19 pm

I guess I should kick this off. I've been keeping bees for about 7 years now. Last year I had 10 hives spread across 4 locations. 5 of them did really well while the others just held their own. I was left wondering if the slow hives might benefit with a new queen, especially if I was able to generate one from my hives that were doing well? I haven't attended any classes in queen rearing, and have only tried the OTS method once several years ago. I still remember the bees laughing at my notched cells as they fixed them and raised more worker bees.

I have read up on grafting and have some cell cups and bars, and a cloak board ready to go. However a knee replacement slowed me considerably last summer.

Every time I have proposed this project in the past, I was met with a fair bit of skepticism. I'm betting that between us we can find a way to make this happen for the good of ourselves and other club members.

Jeff C

willywarthog

Post by willywarthog » Fri Feb 12, 2021 7:17 pm

Hi, my name is Billy Head and I live next to Chengwatana State Forest out of Pine City. I'm 66 and retired.